Maggi Named NAC Senior Scholar Athlete; Chase to the Sportsmanship Team

Maggi Named NAC Senior Scholar Athlete; Chase to the Sportsmanship Team

WATERVILLE, Maine – The North Atlantic Conference (NAC) has announced its Women's Cross Country All-Conference awards as Alyssa Maggi (Belchertown, Mass.) earned Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year while senior Emma Chase (Topsham, Maine) was named to the Sportsmanship Team.

Maggi is being recognized for excelling academically and athletically throughout her undergraduate experience. She is currently enrolled in the accelerated MBA program at Thomas after impressively finishing her undergraduate work in three years. Maggi has been a leader on and off of the race course for her team and the Terriers community. She has served as a peer tutor, is a two-year member of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, and is a member of the dance team, all while excelling in the classroom. She was Thomas' 2016 NAC Sportsmanship Team honoree and serves as the true definition of the ideal Division III student-athlete, she is loyal, hardworking, and extremely reliable.

Chase was named to the Sportsmanship for the first time in her career.  The NAC Women's Cross Country Sportsmanship Team is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the sport culture and environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity.

2017 NAC Women's Cross Country All-Conference Teams

To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team click HERE.

Abby Shafer, Senior, New England College
Katie LeBlanc, Sophomore, UMaine-Farmington
Lauren Oligny, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
Kaylyn Crompton, Sophomore, Castleton
Laura Pulito, Senior, UMaine-Farmington
Martha Aschale, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
Miranda Messeck, Junior, Castleton
Gwen Baker, Junior, UMaine-Farmington 

Lindsey Joliat, Sophomore, Husson
Amanda Boyd, Freshman, Colby-Sawyer
Alison Fairbairn, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer
Sierra Hargrave, Senior, Lyndon
Megan Spainhower, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer
Brynn Cairns, Senior, Johnson
Morgan Clifford, Senior, Husson 

Runner of the Year
Abby Shafer, Senior, New England College
Rookie of the Year
Katie LeBlanc, Sophomore, UMaine-Farmington
Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year
Alyssa Maggi, Senior, Thomas
Coach of the Year
Dan Campbell, Second Season, UMaine-Farmington  
Lyndsay Ostler, Sixth Season, Colby-Sawyer

Sportsmanship Team
Anneli Brandt, Senior, Green Mountain  
Emma Chase, Senior, Thomas
Molly Jack, Junior, UMaine-Farmington
Chenoa Jackson, Junior, UMaine-Presque Isle
Catherine Jones, Junior, New England College
Jessica Lindsay, Sophomore, Maine Maritime
Ali Nelson, Senior, Castleton
Lauren Oligny, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
Sarah Sodaro, Junior, Johnson  
Shannon Staples, Senior, Husson  
Libby Start, Senior, Lyndon