Four Terriers Earn Softball All-NAC Honors; LeBourveau Named Player of the Year

Four Terriers Earn Softball All-NAC Honors; LeBourveau Named Player of the Year

WATERVILLE, Maine – The North Atlantic Conference (NAC) has announced its Softball All-Conference awards and junior Sydney LeBourveau (Jericho, Vt.) has been named NAC Player of the Year. 

Joining LeBourveau on the First Team is junior Lexi Colpack (Franklin, N.H.) while freshman Katlyn Coulter (Jefferson, N.H.) earned Second Team honors and junior Katie Taylor (Lebanon, Maine) was named to the Sportsmanship Team.

LeBourveau had an incredible season for the Terriers on the mound and at the plate. In the circle, she finished 6-7 overall in 77 total innings of work with six complete games and a 3.09 ERA. In six conference appearances, the junior went 3-2 while surrendering just ten earned runs in 29.1 innings. Overall at the plate, she went 51-for-118 (.432) in 36 games with 11 doubles, one triple, three homeruns, 25 RBI, 26 scored runs, and a .619 slugging percentage. In conference action, LeBourveau batted .550 (22-for-40) with a .581 on-base percentage and .950 slugging percentage to rank first in the league. She also tallied 15 RBI, 14 scored runs, five doubles against NAC opponents. She posted a .943 fielding percentage on the year and turned three double plays.

Colpack finished a strong junior season for the Terriers, playing in 36 games.  At the plate, she went 41-for-115 (.357), scored 38 runs, knocked ten doubles, four triples, one homerun, and 18 RBI.  She also stole 13 bases to place her fourth in the conference and ended with a .448 on-base percentage in her lead-off role.  At shortstop, she recorded 69 put outs and turned six double plays.

Coulter capped off an impressive rookie campaign in the circle and at the plate this season.  She ended with a 12-5 record in 97.2 innings pitched, eight complete games, 26 earned runs, 43 strikeouts, and a league-leading 1.86 ERA.  The freshman only allowed four walks throughout the season, placing her second in NCAA Division III in walks allowed per seven innings.  Coulter also ranked ninth in national rankings with a 9.25 strikeout-to-walk ratio.  At the dish, she finished 31-for-115 (.270) with ten doubles, 28 RBI, and four homeruns that tied her four second in the conference.

Taylor was named to the Sportsmanship Team for the second-straight season. The NAC Softball Sportsmanship Team is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the softball culture and environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that go beyond the playing rules and etiquette.

2018 NAC Softball All-Conference Teams

To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team click HERE.

First Team
P - Taylor Barbour, Freshman, New England College
OF - Timi Carone, Senior, Castleton
OF - Shawnie Clark, Junior, New England College
SS - Lexi Colpack, Junior, Thomas
P - Jen Jones, Sophomore, Husson
P/DP - Sydney LeBourveau, Junior, Thomas
C - Kayleigh Oberg, Freshman, UMaine-Farmington
OF - Olivia Smith, Junior, Husson
SS - Calli Van Gorden, Sophomore, Castleton
1B/P - Kaitlynn Woodward, Senior, Johnson 

Second Team
1B - Tamara Aunchman, Sophomore, Husson
3B - Sara Baker, Sophomore, Castleton
2B - Bri Brochu, Sophomore, Husson
1B/P - Katlyn Coulter, Freshman, Thomas
OF - Madelyn Fowler, Freshman, Husson
DP - Joslyn Gallagher, Junior, New England College
1B/3B - Destiny Helmedach, Freshman, New England College
P - Taylor Paquette, Senior, Castleton
1B - Tori Swaine, Junior, Castleton 

Player of the Year
Sydney LeBourveau, Junior, Thomas
Pitcher of the Year
Jen Jones, Sophomore, Husson
Rookie of the Year
Kayleigh Oberg, Freshman, UMaine-Farmington
Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year
Kaitlynn Woodward, Senior, Johnson
Coach of the Year
Terren Allen, Fourth Season, Husson 

Sportsmanship Team
Kasie Craig, Senior, Johnson  
Kiya DeWitt, Senior, Lyndon
Casey Heath, Senior, Husson
Christine McNeil, Junior, New England College
Tori Swaine, Junior, Castleton
Katie Taylor, Junior, Thomas
Kiana Thompson, Senior, UMaine-Farmington

Full NAC Release