Four Land All-NAC Softball Honors; Terriers Take Three of Five Major Awards

Four Land All-NAC Softball Honors; Terriers Take Three of Five Major Awards

WHITINGHAM, Vt. --- The North Atlantic Conference (NAC) announced its all-conference team and major awards for the 2016 softball season Wednesday afternoon and Thomas College was well-represented, claiming four all-conference honors and three of five major awards. Junior Sonja Morse (South China, Maine / Cony) was named NAC Pitcher of the Year, freshman shortstop Lexi Colpack (Franklin, N.H. / Franklin) was named NAC Rookie of the Year and head coach Terry Parlin was named NAC Coach of the Year.

In addition, Morse was named to the All-NAC First Team, while Colpack, junior first baseman Korrie Laren (Blackstone, Mass. / Blackstone-Millville) and freshman center fielder Katie Taylor (Lebanon, Maine / Noble) received second team honors. 

Castleton senior shortstop Jessica Babcock claimed NAC Player of the Year honors, while Husson's Lyndsay Merrill was named the NAC Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year.

NAC All-Conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches.

Morse has played in 23 games this season, including 20 appearances in the circle where she has a 14-6 record with a 2.18 earned-run average, 15 complete games and 128 strikeouts in 119 innings. Morse also hit .220 (13-of-59) with three doubles, 10 walks drawn, three stolen bases and 12 runs scored.

In North Atlantic Conference play, she received the pitching decision in each of Thomas' 12 league games, going 9-3 with eight complete games, a 2.13 ERA and 87 strikeouts. Morse pitched 69 out of a possible 78 innings for the Terriers. She pitched complete games in both halves of doubleheaders against Husson, Johnson State and New England College, and came within an out of doing so against UMaine-Farmington. Morse had three double-digit strikeout games during the season - 10 in the conference opener at Husson on April 13, 12 in game two against Johnson State on April 24, and a season-high 13 in an 8-inning loss to UMaine-Farmington on April 27.

Her 128 strikeouts so far this season are the most since Nicole Smith struck out 120 en route to a 16-4 record in 2008.

Entering this weekend's NAC Championship Tournament, Morse leads all NAC pitchers in wins and strikeouts and ranks second to Castleton's Kelly Wood (0.81) in ERA.

Colpack has played in 29 games this season, hitting .383 (31-of-81) with eight doubles, one home run and 11 RBIs from the leadoff spot in the order. She leads the team in hits, doubles, runs scored (24), walks drawn (17) and stolen bases (10), while posting a team-leading .475 on-base percentage. Colpack also has a .519 slugging percentage. In league play, she hit .355 (11-of-31) with three doubles, one home run, and nine runs scored. Colpack also drew nine walks en route to a .488 on-base percentage and had a .548 slugging percentage.

Colpack leads all NAC players in stolen bases and ranks fifth in batting average entering the NAC Tournament.

Laren, a junior first baseman, has played in 29 games so far this season, hitting .330 (29-of-88) with five doubles, five home runs, 26 RBIs, a stolen base and 22 runs scored. She leads the Terriers in RBIs and home runs and carries a team-best .557 slugging percentage. In North Atlantic Conference play, Laren hit .324 with 12 hits, three doubles, two home runs and 14 RBIs.

She ranks fourth among NAC players in RBIs and is one of five NAC players with at least five home runs.

Taylor has come on strong offensively as her rookie season has progressed. She has played in 30 of 33 games, hitting a team-best .391 (18-of-46) with three doubles, one triple, nine RBIs, three stolen bases and 10 runs scored. Taylor hit .500 (13-of-26) and posted a .654 slugging percentage in 12 North Atlantic Conference games with two doubles, a triple, seven RBIs, three stolen bases and five runs scored. Her 13 hits in league play led the team.

Parlin has led the Terriers to a 16-17 record overall and a 9-3 mark in league play to claim the No. 2 seed at this weekend's NAC Championship Tournament. He has guided Thomas to the NAC Tournament in each of his eight seasons at the helm, finishing as runners-up in 2012 and 2015. He holds a 142-161-3 career mark and his teams have won at a 63.4 percent clip in league play (70-40-2). This is Parlin's second NAC Coach of the Year Award. He was previously honored in 2011.

New to the conference this season is the selection of a Sportsmanship Team which is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the softball culture and game environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that go beyond the playing rules and etiquette. Laren was Thomas' selection to the team.

2016 NAC Softball All-Conference Teams

First Team
C - Brittany Brayman, Senior, Castleton
1B - Rebecca Allen, Senior, New England College
SS - Jessica Babcock, Senior, Castleton
DP/1B - Chelsea Grady, Senior, Castleton
SS - Lyndsay Merrill, Senior, Husson
OF - Timi Carone, Sophomore, Castleton
OF - Alison Hamilton, Junior, UMaine-Farmington
P - Sonja Morse, Junior, Thomas
P - Kayla Wood, Junior, Castleton 

Second Team
SS - Lexi Colpack, Freshman, Thomas
C - Kylie Cunningham, Freshman, UMaine-Farmington
3B - Sami Cyr, Senior, Husson
SS/3B - Joslyn Gallagher, Freshman, New England College
2B/3B - Shannon Grier, Senior, Johnson State
1B - Korrie Laren, Junior, Thomas
P - Gabriella Marcheschi, Freshman, New England College
3B/C - Jamie Ray, Freshman, New England College
OF - Katie Taylor, Freshman, Thomas 

Player of the Year - Jessica Babcock, Castleton
Pitcher of the Year - Sonja Morse, Junior, Thomas
Rookie of the Year - Lexi Colpack, Freshman, Thomas
Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year - Lyndsay Merrill, Senior, Husson
Coach of the Year - Terry Parlin, Eighth Season, Thomas 

Sportsmanship Team
Rebecca Allen, Senior, New England College
Sami Cyr, Senior, Husson
Chelsea Grady, Senior, Castleton
Moesha Harrington, Freshman, UMaine-Farmington
Julia Kearney, Freshman, Lyndon 
Korrie Laren, Junior, Thomas
Jennie Moore, Junior, Johnson State