Men's Tennis Defeats MCLA in Semis; Falls to Colby-Sawyer in Championship

Men's Tennis Defeats MCLA in Semis; Falls to Colby-Sawyer in Championship

RUTLAND, Vt. – The Thomas College men's tennis team swept MCLA, 7-0, to advance to the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) East Championship where they fell to Colby-Sawyer, 5-0, on Saturday.

Thomas 7, MLCA 0

Thomas swept the doubles sets, starting with number one doubles team Ryan Chasse (Fort Kent, Maine) and Zachary Disch (Waterville, Maine) defeating MCLA's Aaron Goldsmith and Jared Freeman, 8-5. Ross Munn (Brunswick, Maine) and Jared Waterhouse (Dayton, Maine) took number two doubles from Matthew Bluteau and Charles Najimy, 8-1, and Kaleb Payson (Lamoine, Maine) and Christo Naranja (Fort Kent, Maine) earned an 8-4 victory over Mohamed Mahrous and Nick Castle at number three doubles.

In singles, Disch at number three singles and Waterhouse at number four singles won their matches in straight sets without losing a game (6-0, 6-0). Munn defeated Freeman at number two singles (6-0, 6-2), and Chasse won the number one singles match over Goldsmith (6-3, 6-2).

Colby-Sawyer 5, Thomas 0

The doubles sets were competitive, but the Chargers came out on top in all three, starting with the number one doubles team of Gustav Jigrup and Nick Mathieu defeating Ryan Chasse and Zachary Disch, 8-4. Both the number two doubles squad of Cam Lynch and Matt Burke and the number three doubles team of Andrew Peloquin and Alex Wright won their sets by an 8-6 count.

Mathieu, the MVP of the tournament, earned the Chargers' fourth point with a straight-set victory over Ross Munn at number two singles (6-1, 6-0). Burke, also on the All-Tournament Team, clinched the match and the title for Colby-Sawyer with a straight-set victory at number four singles (6-4, 6-1).

The NAC East All-Tournament Team also included Burke of Colby-Sawyer, Chasse and Disch of Thomas, Aaron Goldsmith of MCLA, and Quentin Barthe of Castleton.


Quentin Barthe – Castleton

Matt Burke – Colby-Sawyer

Ryan Chasse – Thomas

Zachary Disch – Thomas

Aaron Goldsmith – MCLA

Cam Lynch – Colby-Sawyer

Nick Mathieu – Colby-Sawyer (MVP)