Five Terriers Earn All-Conference Honors; Disch Named Coach of the Year

Five Terriers Earn All-Conference Honors; Disch Named Coach of the Year

WATERVILLE, Maine – The North Atlantic Conference (NAC) has announced its men's tennis all-conference awards as Head Coach Rob Disch was named Coach of the Year. 

Ryan Chasse (Fort Kent, Maine) and Zachary Disch (Waterville, Maine) received First Team Singles and Doubles honors while Ross Munn (Brunswick, Maine) and Jared Waterhouse (Dayton, Maine) made Second Team Singles and Doubles.  Christo Naranja (Fort Kent, Maine) was named to the NAC Sportsmanship Team.

Disch, only in his first season as the Terriers' head coach, was selected by his peers to receive Coach of the Year honors. He led his squad to an 11-4 overall record, including a 4-1 mark in conference action.  Thomas' .733 winning percentage is the highest in programs history, while tying for the most wins at 11.  Nine of the team's 11 victories were by a perfect 9-0 score, including a win-streak of seven from March 29 to April 15. Thomas enters this weekend's NAC East Division Championship Tournament as the No. 2 seed.

Chasse followed up his NAC Rookie of the Year season with a 11-3 record in No. 1 singles, including a 4-1 mark in conference action.  On the No. 1 line in doubles, he finished 12-3 along with a 4-1 record in NAC action with teammate Zachary Disch.

Disch garnered First Team Singles and Doubles honors with his 13-2 record in the No. 3 flight while posting a 4-1 mark in NAC play.  This is the third consecutive season that the senior made First Team Doubles.

Munn played in the second slot for the Terriers this season, posting a 10-5 record overall and a 4-1 league mark.  In No. 2 doubles, Munn and teammate Jared Waterhouse ended 10-3 on the year and 4-1 in the NAC.

Waterhouse, along with Munn earned Second Team Singles for the first time in his career as he finished 12-3 in the four slot for the Terriers.  The sophomore garnered Second Team Doubles honors for the second-straight season.

Naranja was named to the NAC Sportsmanship Team in his second season with the Terriers.  The NAC East Men's Tennis Sportsmanship Team is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the men's tennis culture and match environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that go beyond the tennis playing rules and etiquette.

2018 NAC East Division Men's Tennis All-Conference Teams

To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team click HERE.

First Team Singles
Quentin Barthe, Senior, Castleton
Ryan Chasse, Sophomore, Thomas          
Zachary Disch, Senior, Thomas
Aaron Goldsmith, Senior, MCLA
Gustav Jigrup, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
Nicholas Mathieu, Freshman, Colby-Sawyer 

First Team Doubles
Colby-Sawyer - Cam Lynch, Sophomore / Matthew Burke, Sophomore
Colby-Sawyer - Gustav Jigrup, Senior / Nick Mathieu, Freshman
Thomas - Ryan Chasse, Sophomore / Zachary Disch, Senior 

Second Team Singles
Matthew Burke, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer
Neal Mulligan, Sophomore, Lyndon
Ross Munn, Junior, Thomas
Jake LaCerda, Senior, Lyndon
Brody Wagner, Senior, Castleton
Jared Waterhouse, Sophomore, Thomas
Alex Wright, Junior, Colby-Sawyer 

Second Team Doubles
Castleton - Quentin Barthe, Senior / Jared Wheeler, Sophomore
Castleton - Trevor Hanna, Senior / Brody Wagner, Senior
MCLA - Aaron Goldsmith, Senior / Jared Freeman, Senior
Thomas - Ross Munn, Junior / Jared Waterhouse, Sophomore                                                                               

Player of the Year
Gustav Jigrup, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
Rookie of the Year
Nicholas Mathieu, Freshman, Colby-Sawyer
Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year
Andrew Peloquin, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
Coach of the Year
Rob Disch, First Season, Thomas
Barry Schoonmaker, Ninth Season, Colby-Sawyer 

Sportsmanship Team
Matthew Bluteau, Freshman, MCLA
Evan Daigneault, Sophomore, Johnson
Trevor Hanna, Senior, Castleton
Jake LaCerda, Senior, Lyndon
Christo Naranja, Junior, Thomas
Mike White, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer