Parsons Named Coach of the Year, Seven Players Make All-NAC Teams

Parsons Named Coach of the Year, Seven Players Make All-NAC Teams

(With Contributions from the North Atlantic Conference)

WATERVILLE, ME – The North Atlantic Conference (NAC) has announced their All-Conference teams and Coach Chris Parsons has been named Coach of the Year.  Adam LaBrie, Willie Clemons, London Steede-Jackson, Zeon Robinson has been named to the All-NAC First Team, Tevin Reid, Drew Martin to the All-NAC Second Team, and Joakim Sternas to the Sportsmanship Team.

Parsons led the Terriers to a perfect 9-0 record in conference play and the top-seed in the upcoming NAC Tournament. In conference action, Thomas posted an impressive 49-4 goal differential over nine games, with four shutouts and never allowing a NAC opponent to score more than one goal in a game. Parsons' squad led the league in goals, assists (44), points (142), goals allowed, goal against average (0.44) and tied for the top in shutouts. In Division III, Thomas ranks in the top-6 in seven offensive statistical categories including third in assists per game (3.38), fourth in points per game (10.88), shots on goal per game (11.25) and total assists (54), fifth in scoring offense (3.75) and total points (174), and sixth in total goals (60). On defense, the Terriers find themselves ranked 25th in the nation with a .845 save percentage and 45th with a 0.78 goals against average. So far over six seasons at Thomas, Parsons holds a 71-32-8 overall record and has earned three NAC Championship Titles.

LaBrie put up big numbers this year for the Terriers as he was tied for most goals and points in the NAC with 15 goals and 33 points.  He ranked 21st in NCAA Division III with 0.94 goals per game, 18th in total goals, and 19th in total points.

Clemons controlled the midfield in 2016 as he led the NAC in total assists with 12 and chipped in with two goals.  Clemons ranked 6th in NCAA Division III for total assists and 4th in assists per game (0.80).

Steede-Jackson had his best year for the Terriers as the senior captain amassed eight goals and six assists for 22 points.  In a game against Green Mountain this season, he tallied four-goals in the first half en route to a 10-0 victory.

Robinson was a lock down defender this season for the Terriers, as he started and played in all 16 games.  He led the defense in shutting down top scorers, holding teams to 0.78 goals per game. 

In his first season after transferring to Thomas, Reid made an immediate impact and added depth to the Terriers front line.  He was tied for third on the team in points, notching seven goals and five assists.

Martin, another transfer player for the Terriers, held a 5-2 record in goal this season with a 0.83 goals against average, .854 save percentage, and totaling three shutouts.  He led the NAC in three of the four major goalie statistical categories.

Sternas, a captain in his senior season, split time with Martin, holding a 5-1-1 record, a 0.92 save goals against average, and .786 save percentage.

The Terriers will look for their fourth NAC Championship in the last five seasons as they host the NAC Semifinals on Tuesday, November 1.  They will face the winner of Husson and Maine Maritime.

2016 Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams

F - Adam LaBrie, Sophomore, Thomas 
F - Ronsard Masamba, Senior, New England College 
F - Denali Sexton, Junior, Colby-Sawyer 
M - Willie Clemons, Junior, Thomas 
M - Alex McCormick, Senior, Castleton 
M - London Steede-Jackson, Senior, Thomas 
D - Thomas Kirk, Sophomore, Castleton 
D - Rick Prindiville, Senior, Colby-Sawyer 
D - Zeon Robinson, Senior, Thomas 
D - Michael Skarbelis, Junior, New England College 
GK - Cody Gross, Junior, Husson 

F - Miguel Caballero, Sophomore, Husson 
F - Dominic Caforia, Junior, Johnson State 
F - Dalton Moore, Freshman, Maine Maritime 
F - Tevin Reid, Junior, Thomas 
M - Andrew Clothier, Senior, Colby-Sawyer
M - Rizy Misiri, Senior, New England College 
M - Fidele Rutayisire, Freshman, Castleton 
D - Nik Fahey, Senior, Lyndon 
D - Ryan Holmes, Freshman, Maine Maritime 
D - Paul Phillips, Senior, Castleton 
D - Anthony Romeo, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer 
GK - Drew Martin, Junior, Thomas

Player of the Year
Denali Sexton, Junior, Colby-Sawyer 
Defensive Player of the Year
Thomas Kirk, Sophomore, Castleton
Rookie of the Year
Jack Kingdon, Freshman, Castleton
Senior Scholar Athlete
Nic Pare, Senior, Husson
Coach of the Year
Chris Parsons, Sixth Season, Thomas 

Sportsmanship Team
Josh Bellomo, Junior, Husson 
Dan Bernier, Junior, UMaine-Farmington 
Derek Clark, Senior, New England College 
Ryan Crozier, Senior, Green Mountain 
John Folsom, Sophomore, Johnson State 
Henry Hersey, Senior, Maine Maritime 
Liam Kelleher, Junior, Lyndon 
Sawyer Shane, Senior Castleton 
Joakim Sternas, Senior, Thomas 
Jake Towle, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer 

Full NAC Release