Three Terriers Receive All-NAC Honors

Three Terriers Receive All-NAC Honors

WATERVILLE, Maine – The North Atlantic Conference (NAC) has announced their All-Conference teams and three Terriers received honors.  Senior Tyheem Simon (Far Rockaway, N.Y. / Lawrence) has been named to the All-NAC First Team, junior Carlos Gonzalez (Kennebunk, Maine / Kennebunk) to the All-NAC Second Team, and senior Ian King (Westbrook, Maine / Hebron Academy) to the Sportsmanship Team.

Simon leads the Terriers offense this season with his 21.1 points per game, placing him second in the conference.  He also averages 5.3 rebounds and 2.1 assists per game.  Simon ranks fourth in the conference with his 55.6 percent shooting from the floor.  During the season, he reached the 1,000-point milestone for his career and finished with two 32-point games.  With his current 549 points this season, Simon sits sixth all-time for the most points in a single season at Thomas.

Gonzalez averages a double-double this season with his 13.4 points and 9.9 rebounds per game.  He ranks third in the conference in rebounds and third with his 55.9 percent shooting from the field.  The junior center currently has 13 double-doubles this season with a total of 348 points and 257 rebounds.

King provided leadership and playmaking in his fourth and final season as a Terrier.  The senior guard started in all 26 games this season, averaging four points, 6.2 rebounds, and 6.5 assists.  His assist per game places him first in the conference and tenth in NCAA Division III.  In four games this season, King dished out over ten assists, including a 15-assist night at home against Husson.

The Terriers will face Castleton on Friday, February 24 in a 1:00 p.m. NAC Semifinal matchup at Husson University.

2017 Men's Basketball All-Conference Teams

To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team click HERE

First Team
G - Raheem Anderson, Senior, Husson
G - Jourdain Bell, Sophomore, Colby-Sawyer
G - Thomas Brown, Senior, Green Mountain
F - Chad Copeland, Senior, Castleton
G - Tyheem Simon, Senior, Thomas 

Second Team
C - Dana Bean, Freshman, Colby-Sawyer
G - Charles Correa Jr., Junior, Lyndon
C - Carlos Gonzalez, Junior, Thomas
F - Justin Martin, Sophomore, Husson
G - Patrick Rittmon, Senior, Green Mountain
G - Izaiah Winston-Brooks, Freshman, New England College 

Player of the Year
Raheem Anderson, Senior, Husson
Defensive Player of the Year
Justin Martin, Sophomore, Husson
Rookie of the Year
Dana Bean, Freshman, Colby-Sawyer
Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year 
Benjamin Holl, Senior, Johnson State
Coach of the Year 
Dick Meader, 24th Season, UMaine-Farmington 

Sportsmanship Team
Jimmie Chaisson, Senior, UMaine-Farmington
Jack Hostetler, Sophomore, New England College
Eli Itkin, Senior, Husson
Ife Jimmy, Senior, Lyndon
Ian King, Senior, Thomas
Wyatt Larose, Senior, Johnson State
Evyn Nolette, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
Pavin Parrish, Junior, Castleton
Adam Richardson, Sophomore, Maine Maritime
Diante Warner, Junior, Green Mountain