Terriers Best Colby on Senior Night, 6-3

Terriers Best Colby on Senior Night, 6-3


WATERVILLE, ME—Thomas College defeated Colby College, 6-3 Thursday night in a Central Maine Collegiate Conference (CMCC) match-up at Sukee Arena.

The first few minutes of the contest saw multiple scoring opportunities with both sides getting numerous shots on goal. Colby struck first with a goal midway through the first period. Thomas answered soon after with of a goal of their own when Matt Letellier received a pass from Bryce Lamontagne to knot the score at 1-1. Thomas took a 2-1 lead into the first intermission with a goal from Dylan Fernandez, assisted by Lamontagne.

The Terriers continued to hold momentum into the second period. Michael Hersom fired a shot on net that was saved by the goaltender but put back by Garron LaFountain to increase the Terrier lead to 3-1. Colby responded with a goal of their own minutes later, cutting the Thomas lead in half. Dakota Duplissie brought the Terrier lead back to two with a goal from in front of the net, assisted by Letellier. Tanner Brooks fought off numerous Colby shots to send the Terriers to the locker room with a 4-2 lead after two.

Thomas scored a quick goal to start off the third period to extend their lead to three. Duplissie fired a shot from the left side hash that was deflected by Tyler Harnden and put into the back of the net. Colby quickly answered with a goal that just made it past Brooks to bring the score to 5-3. The Terriers scored the final goal of the contest with six minutes remaining. Lukas Bohman brought the puck up the right side and rocketed a shot from the blue line that made it just passed the glove side to give the Terries a 6-3 lead and victory.

Terrier netminder Brooks made 27 saves in the winning effort.

Senior Captain Joe Caraglia, alongside his family, was recognized for his four years of dedication to the hockey program prior to the contest.

Thomas will go into the CMCC playoffs as the first seed and play again Tuesday, March 11 at 7:30 against the winner of the MMA vs. Unity which will take place the day before.