Three Named to All-NAC Baseball Teams

Three Named to All-NAC Baseball Teams

WATERVILLE, Maine - The North Atlantic Conference (NAC) has announced their All-Conference teams and three Thomas baseball players have been honored.

Freshmen Darren Kelly (Foxboro, Mass.) and Grant Corbett (Manchester, N.H.) were named to the All-Conference Second Team.

Kelly appeared in 34 games this year for the Terriers.  The rookie led the team with a .298 batting average (28-for-94), scored 13 runs, knocked in four RBI, and finished with a .371 on-base percentage.  In the field, he had 34 put outs, 45 assists, four doubles plays, and a .859 fielding percentage.

Corbett finished his first season as a Terrier appearing in 37 of 39 games.  The freshman went 26-for-105 for a .248 average and 17 RBI that tied him for most on the team.  Corbett held a team-high .476 slugging percentage, six doubles, three triples, and four homeruns.

Junior Alex Curtis (Monmouth, Maine) was Thomas' selection for the Sportsmanship Team.  The NAC Baseball Sportsmanship Team is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the baseball culture and environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that go beyond the playing rules and etiquette.

2017 NAC Baseball All-Conference Teams

To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team click HERE 

First Team
C - Sam Huston, Sophomore, Husson
1B - Devon Rollins, Senior, Lyndon
2B - Doug Avellino, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
SS - Luis Atiles, Freshman, New England College
3B - Vincent Backert, Senior, New England College
UT - Derek Bowen, Freshman, UMaine-Farmington
OF - Dillon Benham, Sophomore, Castleton
OF - Evan Delaney, Sophomore, New England College
OF - Andre Eason Jr., Senior, Lyndon
P - Devin Hayes, Senior, Castleton
P - Michael LaBeau, Senior, Castleton 

Second Team
C - Jason Doris, Sophomore, Lyndon  
1B - Davis Mikell, Freshman, Castleton
2B - Darren Kelly, Freshman, Thomas
SS - Dylan Bailey, Sophomore, Castleton
SS - Ryan Cordeiro, Junior, Lyndon
3B - Mark Leahy, Senior, UMaine-Farmington
UT - Stanley Vargas, Freshman, New England College
OF - Grant Corbett, Freshman, Thomas
OF - Conor Crouse, Senior, New England College
OF - Brendan Thurber, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
P - Stanley Vargas, Freshman, New England College
P - Ben Walls, Senior, Husson 

Player of the Year
Evan Delaney, Sophomore, New England College
Pitcher of the Year
Michael LaBeau, Senior, Castleton
Rookie of the Year
Davis Mikell, Freshman, Castleton
Senior Scholar Athlete of the Year
Steven Jurkiewicz, Senior, Castleton
Coach of the Year
Ted Shipley, 17th Season, Castleton
Tom White, Fourth Season, Lyndon 

Sportsmanship Team
Cam Archer, Senior, Husson
Jordan Croteau, Senior, UMaine-Farmington
Alex Curtis, Junior, Thomas
Deagan Poland, Sophomore, Castleton
Andrew Pratt, Junior, Colby-Sawyer
Ryan Swarts, Junior, New England College
Kevin Tufo, Senior, Lyndon