Four Terriers Named All-Conference in Baseball

Four Terriers Named All-Conference in Baseball

WHITINGHAM, VT - The North Atlantic Conference (NAC) has announced the 2015 season awards for baseball and four Terriers have been recognized.

Junior shortstop Nik Beeson has been to the All-Conference First Team, while juniors Anree Benitez (Outfield) and Derek Kane (Utility) along with freshman Michael De Los Santos (Third Base) have all been named to the All-Conference Second Team.

Beeson finished second in the conference in batting average (.383), on-base percentage (.468) and saves (5). The junior set career-highs across the board offensively, totaling 46 hits in 120 at-bats with six doubles, 17 runs scored, 24 RBI, 16 walks and three stolen bases. Beeson also appeared in 10 games on the mound and recorded one win, five saves and 13 strikeouts in 14 innings pitched. This is the second straight season on the All-Conference First Team for Beeson.

Benitez led the conference by scoring 38 runs as the Terriers lead-off hitter, and also finished second in stolen bases with 15. The junior centerfielder also finished in the top 10 in batting average (4th), hits (3rd), doubles (T-6th) and batting average (4th). Benitez makes his second consecutive appearance on the All-Conference team, being named to the First Team last season.

De Los Santos finshed his freshman season out strong for the Terriers, putting together a tremendous tournament weekend, going 9-for-15 (.600) with six runs scored, three RBI and three walks.  For the season, the third baseman finished with a .333 batting average, collecting 41 hits in 123 at-bats, along with five doubles, one triple, 19 runs scored, 14 RBI and 13 walks.

Kane finished in the top 10 in multiple offensive categories, including hits, doubles, walks, batting average, on-base percentage and slugging percentage while also leading the conference with four triples. The junior also appeared in nine games on the mound, making eight starts with one complete game, going 2-3 with a 3.99 ERA in 38.1 innings pitched and striking out 29.


Castleton senior outfielder Tyler Lord (South Burlington, Vt.) has been named as the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Baseball Player of the Year, while Spartan teammate junior Sam Spencer (West Bolton, Vt.) was tabbed as the Pitcher of the Year, and Husson freshman pitcher Robert Graff (South Portland, Maine) earned the Rookie of the Year honor to headline the 2015 All-Conference announcement. Castleton head coach Ted Shipley was selected as the Coach of the Year and the Colby-Sawyer Chargers were voted to receive the Team Sportsmanship Award.

NAC All-Conference selections are determined by a vote of the conference coaches.

Joining Lord and Spencer on the All-Conference First Team were Castleton junior outfielder Dan Errico (West Hartford, Conn.), sophomore pitcher Steven Jurkiewicz (Essex Jct., Vt), senior catcher Nate Swahn (Rutland, Vt.), and sophomore utility Nick Swim (St. Albans, Vt.), UMaine-Farmington junior first baseman Ben Keene (Livermore, Maine) and junior second baseman Dustin McCrossin (Yarmouth, Maine), Husson senior outfielder Kyle Bishop (Waterville, Maine), New England College sophomore third baseman Vincent Backert (Shelton, Conn.), and Thomas junior shortstop Nik Beeson (Manchester, N.H.).

Second team selections included Graff, UMaine-Farmington junior outfielder Sean Cabaniss (Vassalboro, Maine), Husson senior catcher Jordan Carter (Ellsworth, Maine), sophomore outfielder Christian Corneil (Bangor, Maine), and sophomore shortstop Ryan Rebar (Harmony, Maine), Lyndon junior shortstop Reece Tanguay (Essex Junction, Vt.), New England College junior first baseman Zach Carrano (Milford, Conn.) and senior pitcher Brandon Quirk (Whitman, Mass.), and Thomas junior outfielder Anree Benitez (Orlando, Fla.), freshman third baseman Michael De Los Santos (Robstown, Texas), and junior utility Derek Kane (Natick, Mass.).

2015 Baseball All-Conference Teams

To view a PDF list of the All-Conference team click HERE.

First Team
C - Nate Swahn, Senior, Castleton
1B - Ben Keene, Junior, UMaine-Farmington
2B - Dustin McCrossin, Junior, UMaine-Farmington
SS - Nik Beeson, Junior, Thomas
3B - Vincent Backert, Sophomore, New England College
UT - Nick Swim, Sophomore, Castleton
OF - Kyle Bishop, Senior, Husson
OF - Dan Errico, Junior, Castleton
OF - Tyler Lord, Senior, Castleton
P - Steven Jurkiewicz, Sophomore, Castleton
P - Sam Spencer, Junior, Castleton

Second Team
C - Jordan Carter, Senior, Husson
1B - Zach Carrano, Junior, New England College
SS - Reece Tanguay, Junior, Lyndon
SS - Ryan Rebar, Sophomore, Husson
3B - Michael De Los Santos, Freshman, Thomas
OF - Anree Benitez, Junior, Thomas
OF - Sean Cabaniss, Junior, UMaine-Farmington
OF - Christian Corneil, Sophomore, Husson
UT - Derek Kane, Junior, Thomas
P - Robert Graff, Freshman, Husson
P - Brandon Quirk, Senior, New England College

Player of the Year - Tyler Lord, Castleton
Pitcher of the Year - Sam Spencer, Castleton
Rookie of the Year - Robert Graff, Husson
Coach of the Year - Ted Shipley, Castleton
Team Sportsmanship - Colby-Sawyer