15 Thomas Student-Athletes Named to NAC Winter/Spring All-Academic Team

15 Thomas Student-Athletes Named to NAC Winter/Spring All-Academic Team

WHITINGHAM, Vt. --- Fifteen Thomas College student-athletes are among the total of 186 who have been named to the 2015-16 North Atlantic Conference (NAC) Winter/Spring All-Academic Team after the spring 2016 semester.

The NAC All-Academic Team recognizes student-athletes on varsity sports teams who have earned a cumulative grade-point average (GPA) of 3.50 or higher on a 4.0 scale. Student-athletes must also have reached sophomore academic standing and competed in a minimum of two years of varsity competition at their institution.

Four of the 15 student-athletes honored come from Thomas' NAC runner-up softball team. Three others participated in women's basketball while there were two players each from the baseball, men's lacrosse and men's tennis squads. Men's basketball and women's lacrosse had one honoree each.

Justin Murray MBB Sr. Finance Winslow, Maine
Ashleigh Gagne WBB Sr.               MBA Waterville, Maine
Kelly Macomber WBB Jr.                Elementary Education West Gardiner, Maine
Tess McClenahan (SP) WBB Jr.                Forensic Psychology Salmon, Idaho
Joseph Quinlan BASE Sr. Sports Management Westbrook, Maine
Joshua Woodard BASE Jr. Management Oakland, Maine
Bryan Ferris MLAX Sr. Criminal Justice Whitman, Mass.
Sheldon Jones (2) MLAX Sr. MBA Lewiston, Maine
Erin Nelligan WLAX Sr. Criminal Justice Walpole, Mass.
Lindsy Hoopingarner SOFT Sr. Management Richmond, Maine
Taylor Jordan SOFT Jr. Marketing Management Kingfield, Maine
Sonja Morse (AOY; 1) SOFT Jr. Forensic Psychology South China, Maine
Mary Ortiz SOFT Jr. Communications Fillmore, Calif.
Joseph Greco (2; SP) MTEN Sr. Political Science Greene, Maine
Douglas Heanssler MTEN Soph. Criminal Justice Deer Isle, Maine

To view the complete 2015-16 Winter/Spring All-Academic Team, please click HERE.

Of note, eight of the nine seniors who were recognized as the Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year in their respective sport were also honored on the All-Academic Team. Those selections include baseball student-athlete Reece Tanguay (Lyndon), women's basketball student-athlete Elizabeth Ferry (UMaine-Farmington), men's lacrosse student-athlete Zach Devoid (Castleton), women's lacrosse student-athlete Rachel Bombardier (Castleton), softball student-athlete Lyndsay Merrill(Husson), men's tennis student-athlete Dominick Agresta (Lyndon), men's outdoor track and field student-athlete Steven Lamonde (Johnson State), and women's outdoor track and field student-athlete Becca Hashem (Colby-Sawyer).

New to the conference this year was the selection of a Sportsmanship Team which was reserved for those who positively affected the culture and environment of their sport and whose behavior clearly demonstrated sportsmanship and integrity that went beyond the playing rules and etiquette. Impressively, 25 of the Sportsmanship Team honorees were named as a member of the All-Academic Team. This number included Thomas' Tess McClenahan (women's basketball) and Joseph Greco (men's tennis).

Additionally, a number of this year’s All-Academic honorees also excelled athletically. The team consisted of 45 student-athletes who were voted as All-NAC selections in their respective sports, including 36 First Team and 9 Second Team selections. Also listed are the Athlete of the Year honorees in four of the nine NAC winter and spring sports, which include baseball Player of the Year Nick Swim (Castleton), women's basketball Defensive Player of the Year Chandler Guerrette (Husson), softball Pitcher of the Year Sonja Morse (Thomas), and women's outdoor track and field Field Athlete of the Year Rachel Quaye (Colby-Sawyer).

Morse also received first-team all-NAC honors, while Greco and men's lacrosse player Sheldon Jones were second-team selections.

*Please note, each institution is responsible for submitting eligible student-athletes for the All-Academic Team.